Project Description

Combined Transport in the Baltic Sea Region – GIS Framework

Project description

SGKV – Studiengesellschaft für den Kombinierten Verkehr e.V. is a project partner in the Interreg project COMBINE. The results of the project should enable a better understanding of combined transport (CT) in general and in the Baltic Sea region in particular. Within the framework of a data-based work package, the focus is on a goods flow analysis. The analysis should provide specific information on CT flows (volumes), goods (groups of goods) and their structure (mainly used transport modes). It serves as a starting point to describe the design of CT transport chains and to identify potentials and untapped markets.

In order to support the above-mentioned tasks, a framework is to be created in a Geographical Information System (GIS). This framework should contain relevant infrastructures and thus enable analyses in the Baltic Sea Region that show the advantages and "missing links" of combined transport. The infrastructures to be implemented in the GIS or their data should primarily come from open source in order to enable a broad use. The framework should take into account the different transport networks, waterways, rail network and road. In connection with the existing terminal database available to the SGKV, environmental analyses can then be carried out in connection with CT infrastructures.

As part of a subcontract, I am creating a GIS-based framework in QGIS for the SGKV for a map-based representation in the sense of the above-mentioned project. For the implementation of the transport networks, I am examining various sources. Open source solutions are in the foreground, as they allow a broad use of the framework. I obtain additional data such as administrative boundaries, structural data on European (sub)areas (NUTS regions, etc.), commercial and industrial areas in the sense of the project and exchange information closely with the AG on which contents are relevant for CT analyses. In addition to creating the framework in QGIS, I provide documentation on the functionality and data description. In addition, I implement the framework at the client's site and introduce its use.

The project language is English.

Further information

SGKV e. V. | Interreg Baltic Sea Region Project Combine

Internal use of the GIS framework

Map/picture attribution:
© OpenStreetMap contributors
This product includes data licensed from ©EuroGeographics.
© UNECE, United Nations Economic Commission for Europe 2019
© EuroGeographics for the administrative boundaries

Period

June 2021

Client

SGKV

SGKV e. V.

Project partners

none

Keywords

Freight transport

Terminal

Data analysis

GIS

Europe

Tableau

Projekt Beschreibung

Kombinierter Verkehr in der Ostseeregion – GIS-Framework

Projektbeschreibung

Die SGKV – Studiengesellschaft für den Kombinierten Verkehr e.V. ist Projektpartner im Interreg-Projekt COMBINE. Die Ergebnisse des Projekts sollen ein besseres Verständnis des Kombinierten Verkehrs (KV) im Allgemeinen und speziell im Ostseeraum ermöglichen. Im Rahmen eines Daten basierten Arbeitspakets steht eine Warenstromanalyse im Vordergrund. Die Analyse soll spezifische Angaben zu KV-Strömen (Volumen), Waren (Gütergruppen) und dessen Struktur (vor allem genutzte Verkehrsmodi) ermitteln. Sie dient als Ausgangspunkt, um das Design von KV-Transportketten zu beschreiben und Potenziale und unerschlossene Märkte zu benennen.

Um die o. g. Aufgaben zu unterstützen, soll ein Framework in einem Geographischen Informationssystem (GIS) geschaffen werden. Dieser Rahmen soll relevante Infrastrukturen beinhalten und damit Analysen in der Baltic Sea Region ermöglichen, die Vorteile und „Fehlstellen“ des Kombinierten Verkehrs aufzeigen. Die in das GIS zu implementierenden Infrastrukturen bzw. deren Daten sollen primär aus Open Source stammen, um eine breite Nutzung zu ermöglichen. Das Framework soll die verschiedenen Verkehrsnetze berücksichtigen, Wasserstraßen, Schienennetz und Straße. In Verbindung mit der bestehenden Terminal-Datenbank, die der SGKV vorliegt, können dann Umfeldanalysen in Verbindung mit KV-Infrastrukturen erfolgen

Im Rahmen eines Unterauftrags schaffe ich für die SGKV einen GIS basierten Framework im QGIS für eine kartenbasierte Darstellung im Sinne des o. g. Projekts. Für die Implementierung der Verkehrsnetze prüfe ich verschiedene Quellen. Dabei stehen Open Source Lösungen im Vordergrund, da sie eine breite Nutzung des Frameworks erlauben. Zusätzliche Daten wie administrative Grenzen, Strukturdaten zu europäischen (Teil-)Räumen (NUTS-Regionen etc.), Gewerbe- und Industriegebiete beschaffe ich im Sinne des Projektes und tausche mich eng mit dem AG aus, welche Inhalte für KV-Analysen relevant sind. Neben der Erstellung des Frameworks im QGIS liefere ich eine Dokumentation zur Funktionalität und Datenbeschreibung. Zudem implementiere ich das Framework beim Auftraggeber und führe in die Nutzung ein.

Projektsprache ist Englisch.

Weitere Informationen

SGKV e. V. | Interreg Baltic Sea Region Project Combine

interne Nutzung des GIS-Frameworks

Map/picture attribution:
© OpenStreetMap contributors
This product includes data licensed from ©EuroGeographics.
© UNECE, United Nations Economic Commission for Europe 2019
© EuroGeographics for the administrative boundaries

Zeitraum

Juni 2021

Auftraggeber

SGKV

SGKV e. V.

Projektpartner

keine

Schlagworte

Güterverkehr

Terminal

Datenanalyse

GIS

Europa